Agrandir Like the Wind | Numéro 32

Like the Wind | Number 32

$ 21.99

All over the world, a common passion for running
 
Running...the deceptively simple act of moving forward, which actually means something different to every runner - and every reader.
 
Once again, Like the Wind is delighted to share running stories from around the world. The pages of this issue welcome a wide range of experiences and geographies, from the stunning lakes and mountains of the Epirus region of Greece to the pine forests of the Atlantic coast of northwest Scotland, to the barren desert highways linking Los Angeles and Las Vegas.
 
On the streets of Charlottesville, Virginia, renowned writer AK Clemmons and photographer Derrick Waller hang out with the Prolyfyck Run Creww, an inspiring group that has created a truly diverse and inclusive space where runners are seen and supported, and where social injustices are acknowledged and addressed.

Meanwhile, on a track in the north of England, Matthew Dixon beautifully portrays the hardships, emotions and shared aspirations of a club's hard-working session. Plus, author Gavin Boyter follows a childhood hero on a Scottish beach; in Portugal, Gonçalo Santos explains why he is actually grateful to Covid-19; and in those Greek mountains mentioned above, Nick Herbert writes passionately about the European refugee crisis.

Back across the Atlantic, the stakes are high as the Ivy League Athletics Championships resume after the pandemic. Writer Sheridan Wilbur and photographer Joe Hale walk the runway in New York with the students who are supposed to be the best both academically and athletically.

A little further west, Simon Freeman, editor of Like the Wind, finds the determined, and perhaps crazy, runners who embark on the Speed ​​Project Solo, covering the 340 miles between Venice Beach and Vegas.

PS: for each tree used in the manufacture of the magazine, Like the Wind will plant 3 trees via Active Giving and in partnership with the reforestation project Eden. Like the Wind also donates 1% of each sale paid by credit card to Stripe Climate Pledge, which funds carbon removal projects.

Like the Wind | Number 32

$ 21.99

Agrandir Like the Wind | Numéro 32

Like the Wind | Numéro 32

$21.99

Partout dans le monde, une passion commune pour la course à pied
 
Courir... l'acte faussement simple d'aller de l'avant, qui en réalité signifie quelque chose de différent pour chaque coureur - et chaque lecteur.
 
Une fois de plus, Like the Wind est ravi de partager des histoires de course à pied du monde entier. Les pages de ce numéro accueillent un large éventail d'expériences et de géographies, allant des lacs et montagnes époustouflants de la région de l'Épire en Grèce aux pinèdes de la côte atlantique du nord-ouest de l'Écosse, en passant par les autoroutes arides du désert reliant Los Angeles et Las Vegas.
 
Dans les rues de Charlottesville, en Virginie, l'écrivain renommé AK Clemmons et le photographe Derrick Waller passent du temps avec le Prolyfyck Run Creww, un groupe inspirant qui a créé un espace véritablement diversifié et inclusif où les coureurs sont vus et soutenus, et où les injustices sociales sont reconnues et traitées.

Pendant ce temps, sur une piste du nord de l'Angleterre, Matthew Dixon décrit magnifiquement les épreuves, les émotions et les aspirations partagées d'une séance d'efforts d'un club. De plus, l'auteur Gavin Boyter suit un héros d'enfance sur une plage écossaise ; au Portugal, Gonçalo Santos explique pourquoi il est en fait reconnaissant à Covid-19 ; et dans ces montagnes grecques mentionnées plus haut, Nick Herbert écrit avec passion sur la crise des réfugiés européens.

De retour outre-Atlantique, les enjeux sont élevés alors que les championnats d'athlétisme de l'Ivy League reprennent après la pandémie. L'écrivain Sheridan Wilbur et le photographe Joe Hale sont au bord de la piste à New York avec les étudiants qui sont censés être les meilleurs tant sur le plan académique que sportif.

Un peu plus à l'ouest, Simon Freeman, rédacteur en chef de Like the Wind, retrouve les coureurs déterminés, et peut-être fous, qui se lancent dans le Speed Project Solo, couvrant les 340 miles entre Venice Beach et Vegas.

PS : pour chaque arbre utilisé dans la fabrication du magazine, Like the Wind plantera 3 arbres via Active Giving et en partenariat avec le projet de reforestation Eden. Like the Wind reverse également 1 % de chaque vente payée par carte de crédit au Stripe Climate Pledge, qui finance des projets de suppression du carbone.

Like the Wind | Numéro 32

$21.99